RSS

I hate Halloween

31 Oct

no_tricktreat

And with good reason.

It all stems back to a incident in 1973/1974 and some decades later the fear within still resides and affects my behaviour.

Way back then I was a small child, only child of the house.  We lived in a new house in the village, there were no street lights and few neighbours.  The room beside the main lounge/dinner, always named the litte lounge, was where I would play most evenings, not disturbing my parents. The window, at right angles from the main lounge windows, looked out across the lawn and across the neighbours drive. It was a very quiet village and as my street was a cul de sac of only a dozen properties not much traffic either.  It was never unusual for the curtains to be left open after all there was no one to look-in.

One of the main streets [the village centered around a t-junction beside an ancient Priory and river crossing] had the affluent estates, mansions of six or seven bedrooms in acres of land, some only years old some dating pre-victorian, and as the oil industry was beginning to boom on the coast these executive dwellings were rented to upper managements families, thus why we had American families in the village.

The ‘festival’ of trick or treating was unknown to my neck of the woods, yes we were aware of All Hallow’s Eve, the night of witches and gouls, stories of fright but other than that is was a non-event.

I vividly recall that night without much prompting, I was playing gymnastics in the little lounge. forward rolls, backward rolls and so forth, balancing, pretending to tight-rope walk when there was a knock at the window.  I looked up expecting to see a familiar face who had tried to gain our attention by knocking at the front door but had not been heard, but I was much mistaken.  I saw a light shining upon a glowing disfigured face with a blood curdling moan eminating and nothing but pure blacknes around.  I was petrified, scared witles at this utter terror before me.  I know I screamed with all the effort I could muster.  I ran into the main lounge and leapt to my Mother startled by my activity, the leap was close to record breaking for a 5/6year old.  I was shaking, howling, in such utter distress.

My Father hurried from the house.  It was not until many years later that someone else told me he caught one of the teens who had taken part in this deed, had grabbed him by the scruff of his jacket, pulling him to within an inch of his face and shouted most violently at him.

The next day as I boarded the bus for school, I knew instantly who had been involved, the two american teenage boys from the large house and one local boy, they were a gang of three, their snickers and glares displayed their guilt.  I was so angry, yet utterly intimidated.

It is now approaching 4pm and my nerves are already twitching to close the curtains and lock the door.  When I first moved into my home the first couple of All Hallow’s Eve’s I could not bring myself to be in my kitchen and cook because there was nothing to cover the window and door, eventhough there was no way for anyone to get to them, the fear was there.  When I worked flexi-time at the Agency I always left the moment core time was over and drove home to get hidden in my home.

I don’t for a moment imagine those three fellows even remember frightening me that night, but I do.  I hate halloween.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 31, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “I hate Halloween

  1. Bushka

    October 31, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    🙄 Most horrific memory……Hugs! Take Care! :)xx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      October 31, 2011 at 5:21 pm

      Thank you, Bushka.

      I know the fear is irrational and it was just a childish prank but tis a foible of humn nature to still be nervous.

      Like

       
      • Bushka

        October 31, 2011 at 6:03 pm

        I understand only too well the long-term effects of childhood ‘trauma’ – of whatever ilk…..;) Hugs! xx

        Like

         
  2. Len

    October 31, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    Oh wow…that’s a shame…kids can be so mean…

    Like

     
  3. c1a2c3t4u5s6

    October 31, 2011 at 5:30 pm

    I wish the American customs like Trick or Treat,and Cheerleading would stay in America.

    Like

     
  4. deleted user

    November 1, 2011 at 12:59 am

    What a ghastly childhood experience . .
    I have no halloween memories from my childhood. About 15 years ago when living in Norwich I encountered and ignored some trick or treaters whilst walking along a road, who threw a firework at me, which did not injure me.
    The only trick or treaters in Southwold tonight have been some very harmless (I think!) girls.
    Earlier my mum was speaking to a friend on the phone whilst she (the friend) had children knocking at her door – She told them ‘that’s American – we don’t do that here! ‘, and shut the door.
    On the radio today I heard a man say that he gives trick or treaters each a carrot, and a printed article against the americanisation of Britain !

    Like

     
  5. Shona Davison

    November 1, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    I find it a bit strange how it is acceptable to let your kids go out begging for treats. Especially when you are supposed to give one to avoid getting tricked.

    I don’t dislike Halloween it’s self, it can be fun for children but trick or treating is not good at all.

    Sorry you had your bad scare!

    Shona

    Like

     
  6. deleted user

    November 3, 2011 at 10:40 am

    We didn’t celebrate Halloween when i was a child nor did we encourage my two daughters being as they were firm Christians – for me its Firework night or should I say the succession of Firework nights we seem to have that upsets me – as it scares the cats so …………….

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
