RSS

Been Getting Around

13 Oct

bus-train-taxi

I’mmmmmm Baaaaaaaaaack!!

The past couple of weeks have been hectic and not my usual.  My best bud invaded me for a weekend and then she kidnapped me back to hers for a week – all mildly adventurous as it involved a taxi to the train station, train to the city, bus to city appointment, bus back into city and then kill some time before train to her town and taxi to her home.  Thankfully the weather was sunny and bright and all plans fell into place, things ran to schedule, sorted.

There was then another bus ride to go into her town for a mooch about – bus drivers are a bred apart, do they only now full on pedal one or full or pedal two.  I am in my wheelchair, brakes on and they’re not duff, I am hanging onto the hand rails for dead life as we swing around yet another blessed roundabout or screech to a halt at a stop before zooming off into traffic.  My core got a serious physio workout.

Whilst at hers she taught me some basic crochet.  She is an AWESOME crocheter, the things she has produced from the sweetest tiny baby booties to full double bed sized blankets are breath taking – of course as is her way she just shrugs thinking that because she can do it anyone could do it so it is nothing special, well bah-hah, they are and she most certainly is.  It was a craft I had pondered about trying not knowing whether my dexterity and bent fingers and wrists could cope with but it is not uncomfortable and no un-do-able, although I will never ever reach her standard or ski and would not want to.

She sent me home with some yarn and I have been merrily attempting to perfect the rib effect headbands.  The red wool has been uncooperative and after I had finished the damn thing is so tight and all higgled and uneven, but as a first ever attempt [after let me see 1, 2, 3 false starts] I suppose it is not so bad.  Tackling a small flower next, who’d a thunk you could learn something useful from Youtube!!!

It was sad to leave her, we so rarely get much time together now she has moved and I always grieve a little after coming home for a period of my life that was brighter that I should have made better of.

Anywho, I am trying to get some structure into a lapsadayzickle life – ha wont last – desk work on a morning [emails, check sites, play about abit etc] then a house hold chore and luncheon, then spend the afternoon beneath the craft lamp either cross stitching, crocheting, reading or working a project of some kind.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 13, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Been Getting Around

  1. la_spice

    October 13, 2011 at 11:33 am

    Welcome back …. it’s good to have a change of routine.

    Enjoy your new hobby 🙂

    Like

     
  2. Migraine Molly

    October 24, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    I was wondering where the hell you were but I have been to sick to ask.

    Like

     
  3. MarikaSunSeeker

    October 25, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    Sounds like a roller coaster ride you had not a bus ride! Some people are just great at things like crochet and knitting – my sister is like that but I am hopeless 🙄

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
