RSS

Book Of The Dead

23 Sep

book-of-the-dead

I must admit that I do find Patricia Cornwell’s Scarpetta books engaging and can easily spend a couple of hours in the pages, after the disappointment of my previous read I approached this one with a little trepidation grasping the notion that lightning cannot strike the same place twice.

A particularly gruesome and macabre murder takes place in Italy, with curiosities that have some significant meaning to the perpetrator.  A second murder in Charleston and connections with the psychology research being undertaken by Scarpetta’s beau Benton.

It was interesting to see how the author used the mental manipulations of one deluded character to steer and orchestrate almost puppet like the people with whom she had grievances.

As always the threads are neatly brought together at the end, bringing realization to all the nuances and some hidden aspects, and leaving one cliff hanger, one that has e ready to start the next one in the series, but the person is a copy I can borrow has buggered off oh holiday!!!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on September 23, 2011 in Books, Review

 

Tags:

7 responses to “Book Of The Dead

  1. mark

    September 23, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    Patricia Cornwell’s private life could give one of her novels a run for their money.
    She also wrote a very good bio of Ruth Grahman, Billy Grahman’s wife.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      September 23, 2011 at 4:44 pm

      Owww I didn’t know she had a private life to match, might explain the mood swings in the writing …. intrigued now :p

      Like

       
  2. Bushka

    September 23, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    Sounds a good ‘read’….:)

    Like

     
  3. deleted user

    September 23, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    Have you tried Kathy Reichs at all? I went through a stage of her books a well as Ian Rankin’s Remus and now are back to the more subdued Katie Flynn (that way I can sleep at nights!)

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      September 23, 2011 at 10:39 pm

      Yes, I am slowly working my way through hers as well. I do like the books, I also enjoy the tv series, even if the only link between the two is the lead characters name, lol. I remember being uite taken aback when I read the first book expecting it more akin to the tv series and it is so utterly different.

      Think I reviewed 206 Bones on here sometime ago.

      Like

       
  4. deleted user

    September 23, 2011 at 9:44 pm

    I’ve not read any of P/Cornwell, other than her book in which she not very convincingly accuses the painter Walter Sickert of having been ‘jack the ripper’, though it’s possible that he knew something about those crimes, or at least thought he did, and that he might just have penned hoax letters claiming to be from the murderer.
    I’ve enjoyed all Peter James’ Inspector Roy Grace novels, set in Brighton, and some of Ruth Rendell’s novels from the 80’s and 90’s.
    Linwood Barclay is quite good, as is Cody McFadyen, a male author who writes as a female FBI agent.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      September 23, 2011 at 10:42 pm

      The Cody McFadyen sounds interesting, I will have to keep an eye out for some titles when rummaging for a new read.

      My Sister read her Ripper Book and felt the same, she did not really write a convincing investigative book, more I think he did it and here I shall show only the evidence to vaguely support my theory.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
