RSS

Stop the world I wanna get off

10 Sep

messydesk

It has been something of an up and down few days.  My list of things to do turned more into a “must get done” sort of thing.  I set to with the new photos and videos for the Stephen Gibb website, had a few head banging moments with the host pages sftp applet, but winged it rather well.  Quite pleased with the results, hope our hit rate goes up http://www.stcgibb.com  As with all things web media, it is not just the site, I then had to do the necessay tweets, FB posts, Yahoo group messages to advertise the new stuff.  Technology technology.

With my techy head still whirling I set to with my own site, uploading some new photos in the Me, Family, Misc albums and a whole new album related to my sailing.  I still need to work a few banners for the album tops, but thats for another time.  On the Family Tree page I have added a jpeg of my family lineage which shows how far I have got.  One day I hope to add a more indepth tree, once I have concluded my diggings.  Same with my sailing trip blogs, two are already up, but I need to add the other two at some point, mind you it is mind boggling to realise that my first strip was some 17 years ago!!

We had some sad news, one of my Aunt’s died, such a shame.  I have been swampe with childhood memories of visiting and staying with her and her husband, of them holidaying with us.  My sadness is compounded with the fact that I will not be able to attend the funeral because it is on the door step of my Sister’s vacation.  Somewhere in my noggin I feel that this may well be the last opportunity I will ever have to visit my clan, but things are as they are ::shrug::  Letters and cards will have to surfice.  I get so despondent when my muscle disease prevents me from accomplishing something tha would not even warrant a second thought if I were fitter.  I mean, a couple of years ago, I would have driven myself to the funeral along with my bestest, but not now and it is not exactly train-able.

Thinking on the tree research, I need to get on and process the information from the latest bundle of certificates that have arrived, so intriguing.  Even if I do say so myself, I am doing rather well.

Enjoy your weekend folks.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on September 10, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “Stop the world I wanna get off

  1. Bushka

    September 10, 2011 at 4:14 pm

    Sorry about your not being able to get to your aunt’s funeral…..Would have been such a wonderful experience for you….:yes: Most salubrious….IF…..:( Hugs! I wish I had just a fraction of your ‘tech’ Know-How….;) Take Care! :)XXX

    Like

     
  2. la_spice

    September 10, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    You are a clever techie …. well done for persevering. :yes:

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      September 11, 2011 at 1:41 pm

      it is easier than it sounds, and most software is very drag and drop user friendly. Although the Stephen Gibb site is still hand written html for the main pages.

      Like

       
  3. Miza-T

    September 10, 2011 at 8:19 pm

    Wow! That is a lot of work to be done, I wish I had so much energy!;)
    Can’t you ask someone to drive you to the funeral? I personaly don’t like attending funerals; it is something I do when I really feel I have to…

    Enjoy your weekend too.
    xx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      September 11, 2011 at 1:43 pm

      Thank you Miza-T …. sadly my mobility problems means that cannot travel without a ‘fit’ companion who does not mind lifting and shifting me and taking the train is not an option because of all the changes.

      Like

       
      • Miza-T

        September 11, 2011 at 7:20 pm

        I just checked to see where you live; I’m afraid its a bit far for me; if it was closer I would bring a friend and take you to the funeral ( I’m not fit at all, I have my own disability but I can still drive), I’m afraid its almost 300 miles. xx

        Like

         
  4. deleted user

    September 10, 2011 at 11:11 pm

    My condolences for your bereavement, and as Miza suggests, I hope you can get to the funeral/family gathering somehow, though if not of course they’ll understand.
    So unfair when good people get randomly afflicted with damn debilitating diseases.
    You seem to be coping with the challenges fantastically well, though I’m sure you must despair of it all on occasions.
    Take Care, all the best, Martin.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      September 11, 2011 at 1:46 pm

      Thank you Martin. I have had a good old mope and moan with my best friend, things are as they are and it is more upsetting that yet again my health is determining my choices.

      Like

       
  5. Bill

    September 12, 2011 at 3:11 am

    At a more convenient time for all, can you host a family get together in your neck of the woods?

    Like

     
  6. brenda Herrin

    September 14, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    AM sorry too hear of your Aunts passing. And sorry you didn’t get too go. I myself try and miss such events in the last 10 years as it just makes me so upset. Getting older really sucks but at least as Dwight says……….We are getting older and we are this side of the dirt. You hang in there girl. Your site is amazing. Hope too read even more soon.
    Brenda

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      September 17, 2011 at 1:44 am

      Hi Brenda – Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
