RSS

That £100 didn’t last long!

21 Aug

 

emptypockets

Some of you may remember that at the beginning of the year I gave up driving, there were a few reasons for taking the decision, I did not have anywhere to drive to with my best friend moving 100 more miles awy, my physical health was deteriorating and I did not feel totally comfortable behind the wheel anymore and the cost.  Seven months after selling my car, how has it been.  Wel there was a pang of sorrow the first time I left the house and my little blue bug was not in its usual parking space but in all honesty I have not missed the car at all.

Don’t get me wrong there have been loads of times when I wanted to just hop in the car to go and get this, deal with that or just be somewhere else, but as me getting anywhere involves other people’s schedules, having other muscles to get me from house into car etc, the actual car part was nothing.

I was however looking forward to having an additional £100 a month to play with … I could treat myself to having a take away delivered once a month, or maybe buy a book or dvd or a magazine, save up for that dynamic piece of software I want [to plug vcr into my iMac upload old VHS and burn to DVD], save some for taxi fairs if needed.  The list of possibles were seemingly endless.

So where has that £100 gone to …..

£26 electricity direct debit increase
£20 increase in dentist/opticians/foot scrubber charges
£7 on BT direct debit charge
£33 on monthly Grocery …yes £33!!  Not like I live on Harrods Food Hall goodies, just Tesco

So … that £100 didn’t last long

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “That £100 didn’t last long!

  1. Miza-T

    August 21, 2011 at 4:59 pm

    That can be very frustating, I can feel your pain an I identify with that very much.xx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 22, 2011 at 9:49 am

      Thank you. I thought some might go with increased bills, just was not expecting it to be so much.

      Like

       
  2. la_spice

    August 21, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    Oh dear … an oh so familiar feeling 😦

    Imagine how worse off you’d be if you’d have hung onto that car though :yes:

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 22, 2011 at 9:50 am

      That is true ‘if’ I was still fit and driving I’d have to sell myself to fund the fuel … wouldn’t get very far on those profits!!

      Like

       
  3. c1a2c3t4u5s6

    August 24, 2011 at 9:35 am

    I am sorry to hear that your health is not so good,and money goes nowhere these days.I know I would be lost without my mobility scooter,not that I cango very far, but at least it gives me some independance.

    Like

     
  4. deleted user

    August 24, 2011 at 9:34 pm

    A shame that you no longer have your car ; Unfortunately I never got round to learning to drive.
    -x-.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
