RSS

Stuart Wickison – such a sad passing

10 Aug

stuartwickison

Some national papers have published this fellows sad story.  Stuart took part in the Extraordinary People series that was aired on Channel 5 way back in 2007.  I remember watching the documentary “The Boy Who Will Never Grow Old”, I remember being moved to tears through a gammit of emotions, thoughts and fears, not solely because of what he had had to endure and had had to surpass but also for myself, [we bothhave Muscular Dystrophy, his was Duchenne theworst and cruelest, mine is Fascio-Scapulo-Humeral].

When you have a degenerative disease which does not follow any rules nor have any effective management, you are always in the dark as to what will happen next; will it be blinking, swallowing, standing or whether you can straighten your fingers.  To see via the documentary the everyday normal ordinary things Stuart automatically considers that to many other ‘normies’ seem so beyond knowledge shows how we are utterly fcused in our own ways.  It also shows how much we do not realise how every other person around us has their focuses and how everyone normal is not all that common to everyone elses normal.

The Documentary is in three parts on youtube.

Part One – http://youtu.be/ZWQK3KcRcr4

Part Two – http://youtu.be/AqjsBUj2pvw

Part Three – http://youtu.be/diZE5Tskg3A

So sad …..

I cannot imagine the dispair Stuart must have been feeling, the despondency and helplessness, even anxiety and fear of his future.  I often feel those things and I am nowhere near as hampered as he is.

The Wickison and family must be lost in their devestation and grief, my heart cries for them.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on August 10, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “Stuart Wickison – such a sad passing

  1. Bushka

    August 10, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    Thank You Ann for alerting me to this sad passing….Just got back home – reading posts…YOURS HERE….Have now had another look at the docs…and also read reports of his ‘passing’ in Eastbourne….My heart holds his parents close! Hugs for YOU!!! XXX

    Like

     
  2. deleted user

    August 10, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    I did not see the programme, but thanks for drawing our attention to the sad loss.
    Take Care,
    Martin.

    Like

     
  3. The Art of Dying

    August 11, 2011 at 3:25 pm

    I am watching the program now.
    Such a beautiful and brave young man.

    Like

     
  4. Tracy

    December 23, 2011 at 1:31 am

    Everything you said about Stuart is spot on. He truly was facing a beast of a disorder that was robbing him of himself in increments. Wiley & unpredictable, this cruel illness was without empathy for Stuart’s suffering or consideration for the treasure trove of talent and character he personified.

    I live with a chronic painful and debilitating condition but it is but a scraped knee in comparison to what Stuart endured. His example and positive attitude inspired me to become a much more active, appreciative and engaged person.

    Although the manner of his passing was sad, his life was a lesson in dignity and endurance.

    Like

     
  5. Victoria Jackson

    December 23, 2011 at 6:06 am

    Stuart Wickison changed my life, he was my hero. No, I don’t have any medical disorder, and that I am so thankful for. But I did struggle with life. I remember he said, “People always talk about the meaning of life; that you are born to die. But what about the bit in between, what about the living? Well… I’m here for that, not the rest. I’m here to live, I’m not here to suffer. I’m here to make an impact.”, and that right there, was what changed my life forever. I was just about to contact him a few hours ago, about where I might be able to purchase a painting of his. He was studying at an art university, because he dreamed of making an impact on the world. And if not the world, nor capable of motivating even one person, he wished to inspire himself. I will never forget the reason for why I am alive, that life blessed me and many others, with such an extraordinary person as Stuart Wickison, may he rest in peace. My only regret is that I will never get to meet my hero, nor thank him for the tremendous impact he has made, in my life and many others. My heart goes out to the family, for their incredible loss, I cannot imagine.

    Like

     
  6. inspired

    April 27, 2012 at 7:58 pm

    I was skimming through the channels five night’s ago looking for something to watch and I landed on the t.v program documenting this young mans journey with this horrid disease. I didnt know why at the time it hit me so hard, but it reduced me to tears and as a mother I felt my heart strain at the thought of one of my boys going through the same. Stuarts mother broke my heart, watching her put on such a brave front. How she must have begged God to spare her child, to give her a miracle. Watching what this young man went through, the sacrifices he had to make each day when his body failed him, the determination to have the upper hand and live his life despite the dire prognosis he was handed. The next day I hit the web to try and locate him, I still dont know why as I have never had the urge before to do something like this, perhaps in order to contact him and let him know that he touched me, my heart, as a mother and as an individual. Although I was not surprised to see the headline of his passing it still floored me and again reduced me to tears and just now having been able to read further only to hear of the circumstances and be all the more heartbroken. I dont know this young man, I have never met him except that one late night in my living room through the t.v, but I will forever remember him… in my simple daily routines that would have brought him such joy to accomplish, in the little things that we often take for granted, when I watch my little boys run to me, healthy, happy. Thank you Stuart, maybe too little too late, but thank you for opening my eyes and giving a whole new color to the world around me. You were the artist that night and I was the canvas. Cheers Mate.

    Sincerely,

    Inspired.

    Like

     
  7. Dan

    January 31, 2013 at 1:03 am

    Thank you to all of you who have written so beautifully and eloquently about Stuart, remarkable human being. I hope it helps his parents and loved ones to know the impact their son has made on so many of us. So courageous.

    Like

     
  8. Lily

    April 5, 2013 at 6:13 pm

    I’m facing something scary right now and his story, his struggle, has inspired me to stick it out.

    Like

     
  9. gelschter User

    June 25, 2014 at 10:31 am

    Yes, it is a sad story indeed. I am sorry to read about the experiences he has to meet in his life. Life is bit strange sometimes and you cannot when your life turns in the opposite direction. The documentary was very inspiring and it points out to look the life in a new dimension. buckyballs

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
