RSS

Moby Dick (failure and success)

01 Jul

moby-dick

For so long this was a book I wanted to read, so when a gal pal was moving house and going through her paperbacks she passed her copy to me.  Finally, I would knuckle down and read the text.  Yes, adventure on the high seas, relive the moments of waves and wonder, the inter-relationships the strain and snaps of men so tightly confined toward one goal.  With much anticipation I started page 1 chapter 1 “My name is Ishmel” ……….

………. how quickly my enthusiasm depleted, how soon I became bogged down in the minutia of the language and of trying to maintain the concentration to build the epic picture on my mind as I turned to page two ……….

………. I soldiered on towards chapter two feeling comfortable in the concept that I would settle into the style.  Chapter three.  Onwards meeting Queequeg and visualising this curious being ……….

………. The rot set in, reading less and less and less often, putting off reading other books I was looking forward to.  I conceded defeat, this book is impossible!!!

moby-dick-DVDfiles

I hired the DVD of the 1956 classic with Gregory Peck, Richard Basehart, et al.  Settling with a warm cuppachinno and a little expectation I watched the movie hoping to find I had got further through the book than I felt, but no before long I had passed my bookmark and we were only just setting sail!

The film sadly lacked something for me, I wanted the crew to mutiny at their obsessed captain, I was unconvinced by the sudden turnabout of one of the boat men who had been so against going for Moby, yet in the thrill of the battle he again and again set to attack the whale until all hands [bar one] were lost.

Moby_Dick_(1998)

I am waiting for the 1998 adaptation with Patrick Stewart, Henry Thomas et al.  Maybe a more modern filmed viewing will again warm my heart to this tale.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 1, 2011 in Books, Films, Review

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Moby Dick (failure and success)

  1. Rumwell

    July 2, 2011 at 6:13 am

    LOL. At least you tried. When I was younger I loved Harry Potter. (The books, not the kid, obviously) Perhaps you should try reading those. 🙂

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      July 2, 2011 at 1:04 pm

      You know, ever since HP first came to light it has never caught been something to catch my literary eye. I have found some Philipa Gregory historic novels and I have a couple of Terry Pratchett’s to catch up on.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
