RSS

Loose End

09 Apr

looseend

As I awoke this morning and turned to laze on my back basking in the curtained sunshine and warmth I wondered what I was going to do with myself this fine Saturday.   You see for the past few weekends Saturday and Sunday have been divided into elements, first any chores, tidying and washing up, then after lunch working on the cross stitch piece while watching a movie or three until well into the evening.  As the piece has now been completed I felt a little at a loss on how to fill my weekend.

I considered finishing off the captioning on the new stcgibb.com photo gallery I am putting together, but that felt like doing a week chore on a day off.  I thought about finishing off the almost done dusted and filed away paperwork around my desk, but that too felt like a week day chore. There is always the albums of my own web site, but again, that feels like a week day chore.

Maybe I should start that new cross stitch piece for myself, but, well, it has no urgency or impetus although I do have a couple of films to watch [Yogi and Mama Mia].

It does not help that outside is a gloriously sunny day and the nearest I can get to it is by looking out my window.  The touble with having a disability to keeps you housebound is that there is no ‘sit outside for lunch’ or whiling an afternoon sunning while reading a book [still working through Moby Dick].

Owww I know what I shall do …. call my bud and annoy her for an hour

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Loose End

  1. c1a2c3t4u5s6

    April 9, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    I too am disabled, I can walk but not far as I have no balance,however I can drive a mobility scooter and it is wonderful to run aroun on that,I don’t know the extent of your problem,but can you not do that?

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      April 9, 2011 at 9:21 pm

      I did look into the possibility of an electric wheelchair but the local authority won’t lease me one as I can stand and move around indoors ::rolleyes:: To buy they are just ridiculously expensive and where I live could not really accommodate one and if I moved it would render the use of one significantly. So for now, I’m stuck as I am.

      Like

       
      • c1a2c3t4u5s6

        April 10, 2011 at 7:43 am

        You can get a second hand mobility scooter quite cheaply.

        Like

         
      • amgroves

        April 10, 2011 at 2:19 pm

        There are some good bargain second hand, but my condition means I need a wheelchair rather than a scooter. Although I ;just about’ manage in the house using a walker to get about, even then it is only very very short distances.

        Thanks for your thoughts. I sometimes think if I lived somewhere else I might have more options but would loose more too. Things are never straight forward!

        Like

         
      • c1a2c3t4u5s6

        April 10, 2011 at 3:00 pm

        It is really frustrating when you can’t get out,I can walk outside with a walker,or with a stick if someone is holding my hand,but not far,so my little scooter makes life easier. I have cervical myelopathy.

        Like

         
      • amgroves

        April 11, 2011 at 9:22 pm

        Our style of disabilities take away the spontaneity of life because we have to put so much extra thought into everyday life.

        Thanks for commenting.

        Like

         
      • c1a2c3t4u5s6

        April 12, 2011 at 11:01 am

        That is true,and I must admit it really gets me down especially in Summer

        Like

         
  2. amgroves

    April 9, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    Yogi Bear – predictable, over acted and the mix of real life/blue screen was at some times disjointed. I was disappointed.

    Mama Mia – took me a while to get into but then it was amusing.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
