RSS

The Cat Who Came In From The Cold

01 Aug

Thermal

Last night I re-read this book for oh maybe the ninth or tenth time.  I love this book, it is one of the very few that I will re-read to give me that warm cozy feeling especially when all around me is going to the blues.  Maybe because it is a real event story which always gives a book that added sensory perception, maybe it is because here we have some one who is as nutty as me and my family with our family pest ….. I meant pets.

Allow me to intoduce you ….. Thermal is a small fluffy white kitten sitting on an upturned bucket in the pouring rain looking up at the neighbours with his woefully eyes.  The image would have melted the coldest heart and he was brought in on the end of a shovel, just til his owners came home from their work, just an hour or two, the poor thing might drown or get mugged by a big leaf out there on his bucket.  The Longden residence is a curious home, Derric and Aileen prolific writers respected in their fields had something of a querky routine.  Aileen being Aileen it was inevitable that before long she’d shut the kitten in the fridge and Derric’s solution was to wrap him in a  shrunken thermal jumper, hence he was named, Thermal.

This takes us through Thermal’s kittenhood, learning the perils and pleasure of a sheepskin rug, the frights and delights of christmas trees, the treats and hazzards of the great outdoors, the warming sensation of the fax machine beneath your bum and all the whle there’s Derric to show he can be as big a fool as Thermal.

Thermal’s charms quickly work on the other family members as the visit.  Within hours he has Nick trained in the art of fire making and Thermal’s vital role of coke nugget sniffer.  The housekeeper however was altogether another thing, she lasted a whole morning before Thermal and his antics drove her from the house.

I defy anyone not to laugh at the episode involving the exploding damson wine!

Next on my reading table may well be the re-reading of the “Enough To Make A Cat Laugh” followed by “Paws In The Proceedings”, to see if Thermal, under the guidance of Tigger the maternal type of cat, Arthur the straight talking old timer of a cat and Chico Mendes O Connell his friend from across the lane have helped in anyway to mature this charismatic moggy.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 1, 2010 in Books, Review

 

Tags:

6 responses to “The Cat Who Came In From The Cold

  1. Me

    August 2, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    Me not like cats though… Thermal will probably grow up to kill birds and mice and fish if he could catch them. Cats are killers no matter how ‘cute’ they are.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 3, 2010 at 3:05 pm

      We don’t seem to have much of anything in common these days 😦

      Like

       
  2. Me

    August 6, 2010 at 6:53 am

    Really? I’ve never liked cats since the day you first met me.

    Like

     
  3. DebbieSLP

    August 10, 2010 at 12:12 am

    Ah, cats. Mine bring me dead birds, baby voles and whatnot. But they are still cute the next day. Hey, nice to find you, old friend from the BG chatroom. 🙂

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 10, 2010 at 10:14 am

      Cats do have that butter would not melt expression after they’ve done something naughty, cheeky or bad. The last cat I had when I lived with my parents would wait at the end of the drive til I came home and give me that scornful look of “What time do you all this young lady!!”

      Like

       
  4. Me

    August 10, 2010 at 9:10 am

    The birds and baby voles weren’t dead before the cat killed them. I don’t know why I don’t find that cute. Must be something the matter with me huh?

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
