RSS

html correcting ….. tedious!

16 Jul

PcDeath

HTML is a wondrous, taxing and quite baffling language used to produce web sites.  Some of you may have come across it when you edit your blog post and oodles of and “_= and the irksome &nbsp blaze the screen. The sever where I host my two web sites http://www.stcgibb.com and http://www.amgroves.com has been updating its various elements and as a result the use of capital letters in the coding sends the page into virtual apoplexy and could render the whole internet down the plug hole!!

Now this is a job I have been meaning to do for the past few years.  To explain [I will use different brackets] the html coding for inserting a picture would be {img src=”http://www.DomainName.com/images/Pic.jpg” }   if this code was used the capital letters would cause that annoying X in the corner.  the html code for a link would be something like {a href=”http://www.AMgroves.com” target”_blank”}My Web Place{/a} once upon a time such a link would take you to the home page of that site but now it just gives an annoying error because the page cannot be found.

Anyway, the server company did all their updates and I merrily clicked along to road test the sites, [I do this a couple of times a week, just in case of hacking or other snaffoos] and discovered that things were not working properly.  I spent the next couple of days reading through approximately 40 pages of script and all the file directories making sure that every capital letter is corrected into lower case.

I have yet to retest all the links – there is bound to be one bugger that doesn’t function!!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 16, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

4 responses to “html correcting ….. tedious!

  1. The_Walrus

    July 16, 2010 at 10:35 pm

    HTML is un morceau de gâteau…

    I don’t get spurious capitals, the way you describe, so perhaps the stylesheet for the blog is putting them there? Just a thought…

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      July 17, 2010 at 11:35 am

      My bad … I meant that when/if we edit a blog post the screen automatically comes up with the post with the relevant html coding, which is often the only time people come across html script.

      The web sites I edit have been hand written using html and css, many eons ago when I first started writing html capital letters were no problem, and after years as an organised business secretary my typist trained hands would automatically use capital letters at the beginnings of names, file names, directories etc without my conscious knowledge. I have had to untrain my tapping digits when web working.

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

      Like

       
  2. Me

    July 17, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    They said this was coming back when we took that course, remember?

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
