RSS

What makes a salad?

08 Jul


salad

What defines a salad as a salad??  My dear old Mum [rest her soul] would ‘make a bit of salad’ which constituted some round lettuce, quartered tomatoes, sliced cucumber, chunks of celery and some Heinz Salad Cream.  To me that is barely even a garnish!

My computers dictionary defines it as A cold dish of various mixtures of raw or cooked vegetables, usually seasoned with oil, vinegar, or other dressing and sometimes accompanied by meat, fish or other ingredients.

One of the online dictionaries details it as A dish of raw leafy green vegetables, often tossed with pieces of other raw or cooked vegetables, fruit, cheese, or other ingredients and served with a dressing. Or A cold dish of chopped vegetables, fruit, meat, fish, eggs, or other food, usually prepared with a dressing, such as mayonnaise.

For me, if I am making a ‘substantial’ salad the concoction will consist of 

  • Lettuce – iceberg and one other
  • Tomatoes – cherry usually, halved
  • Onion – either a red onion or salad onions chopped
  • Celery
  • Mushroom
  • Corn – either canned sweet corn or baby corns sliced
  • Carrot – chopped or grated
  • Bell Pepper – diced, which ever colour suits
  • Radishes
  • Cress – looks like grass tastes mustard like

Dressing can be

  • Balsamic vinegar
  • Caesar
  • Salad Cream
  • Italian vinaigrette

 

Making a meal of it I may also toss through

  • New potatoes, buttered or
  • pasta or
  • Tuna or
  • Ham or
  • Strong cheese, grated

I find it a dish that takes a lot of preparing, a lot of chewing and a lot of tidying up after.  I do enjoy the crunching and tastes, but rarely buy the necessary ingredients because so often they don’t keep, those are the pit falls of being a singleton who grocery shops infrequently.  That is why I stopped buying potatoes, because they’d become another life form in the veg box before I got round to eating one – that reminds me, note to self, muck out the veg box.


My taste buds are thinking they’d really relish some, but tough, they’re going to wait a couple of weeks before I do my next order, by which time the current spell of warm summery elements will have passed and I’ll be craving something else.

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “What makes a salad?

  1. amgroves

    July 8, 2010 at 3:30 pm

    Also, my bud makes a yummy scrummy seven layer salad, that is delicious :p

    Like

     
  2. Daphne

    July 11, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    My Grandmother made the best Greek salads. I thought they were so good because she was a Greek, but she would tell me they were so good because they were made with Love!! She also would tell me to never go out without having a few dollars hidden in your bra and garter belt, (you never knew when you might happen by a poker game), and most
    importantly; never marry a man who can not appreciate opera.

    Like

     
  3. DebbieSLP

    August 10, 2010 at 12:17 am

    Salad is the main dish around here (well, for me, not for DH). Lettuce, tomato, cuke, red or yellow pepper, avocado, and spinach are the staples. Sometimes croutons. I like mine plain, DH douses his with Ranch or Honey Mustard dressing. Balsamic vinegar I reserve for steamed greens. Salad is so good for you. Mmm…

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
