RSS

4, that was all

08 May

Chairing

I spent to days composing the A4 double sided financial and secretarial report with AGM invite and voting slip, printed off 20 copies.  Some had to be snail mailed, others were hand delivered … slowly the papers were return “not attending” … “not attending” … “I won’t come if he does, I’m not being hooomiliated again!”

::sigh::  I know how it is going to be

I spend days telephone decorators to get them to come and quote for the work that needs doing.  I read through the nineteen years worth of archive documents seeking the relevant paragraph of a past decision; I re-read the lease agreement for clarification on a point; I familiarised myself with the Memorandum and Articles of Association [rules on which the Company operate].  I got my finger literally hooked on a staple [more than an ouch situ].

::sigh::  Is it worth sourcing extra chairs

The day arrives, I plump the cushions, straighten the curtains, open the front door, sit and wait ….. wait … it’s 2.15pm, the meeting is scheduled to start at 2.30pm and no signs of attendees …. wait …. wait …. footsteps, some one approaches.  One person tentatively walks in, now I just need two more and we have a quorum, fingers crossed, attempt small talk.

Ohh wait …. two people arrive [it’s a stampede], “Hello, hello, thank you for coming take a seat, sorry for the crush” .. jocular laughter … more small talk … 2.40pm five more minutes and it will have been a total waste of time.  Thankfully one more arrives, yes, a quorum.

To the Agenda … all items wizzed through it less than twenty minutes.  Short general discussion ensued and that was that.

20 potential attendees, 4 showed up – bet you when the missing 14 read the minutes and decision they’ll be pipping up .. tough tits.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 8, 2010 in Grumble

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “4, that was all

  1. Clumpee Puddin

    May 8, 2010 at 5:54 pm

    Teeheehee!! Sounds like my parents condo meetings in the USA. People will be people no matter where they live. But now for something really important; after 3 attempts my creme brulee still looks like something an infant will ungratefully return to it’s mother. I can’t figure out what I am doing wrong!! Oh the heartache!! Julia Child help!!!!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      May 8, 2010 at 10:04 pm

      Oh yes, the most energetic discussion was about the yucca plants, trying to decide if the ones being discussed were those originally planted or regrowth from one’s cut down in the past that have sprouted forth again!

      Do I know how to live or what!!!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
