RSS

Dahl Books

25 Apr

24-04-10_1548

My best bud recently showed me a colourful boxed collecton of Enid Blyton books she had bought and she commented that there was also a Roald Dahl collection. I had held a passing fascination remembering little about him other than snippets of scenes from the Dirk Bogarde film “The Patricia Neal Story”. As a child although I had access to many childrens books thanks to school and the mobile library service I had some how managed to miss his treats, except of couse Gene Wilde’s Willy Wonka.

When I visted my friend last Thursday there on her kitchen table was the collection, a present for me. I had to smile she instantly told me not to look at the base because it had printed on it the full proper retail price but she’d only paid a sixth of that ~ bargain.

So Friday I read “The Magic Finger” and yesterday I read “Esio Trot” and “Fantastic Mr Fox” and in a moment I am going to read “The Twits” and possibly “George’s Marvellous Medicine”. In the long term, one day I might just get to share them with a great neice or nephew, for now I shall enjoy the comfortable reading.

Toodloo

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2010 in Books

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Dahl Books

  1. Meg

    April 30, 2010 at 11:44 pm

    I love Roald Dahl! Although looking at that collection, I’ve only read about half of his books. You’ll love The Twits. 😛 Saw an interesting doco on him a while back.

    I don’t know if they’ve done it there too, but I absolutely HATE what they’ve done to the Enid Blyton books here! 😦 They’ve gone and PC-ed up the names of the kids. Now it’s not Jo, Bess, Fanny and cousin Dick in the Faraway Tree books; it’s Joe, Beth, Frannie and Rick. FFS! Dick is a contraction of Richard, GTF over it you moronic politically correct WANKERS!! When I was young enough to read these books first (second, third, fourth…etc.) time around, I didn’t read the name Fanny and have my mind go directly to the gutter, do not pass Go, do not collect $200. It’s stupid and I hate it. I love the stories but I refuse to buy them to pass on to others unless I can find original, unadulterated versions. I’m surprised they haven’t got Saucepan Man and Mr Watsizname living in separate quarters (not to mention Saucepan’s mum and Dame Washalot). I mean, they’re obviously GAY, right? ZOMG! Think of the children!! *rolleyes*

    Sorry for the rant. 😛

    Like

     
  2. amgroves

    May 1, 2010 at 11:21 am

    ohh, I haven’t looked at the Enid Blyton ones to see if they have been changed. I vaguely remember hearing something about them changing books but didn’t pay a great deal of attention other than to roll my eyes. I only read her Famous Five books. I’m with you, they shouldn’t be messed with, Fanny and Dick are just names, why make such a big deal over it? It’s the pc-nannying-do-gooding-namby-pamby peeps gone mad!!!

    Rants permitted and welcomed

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
